Banana Bread

I had two very ripe bananas that were nagging me to make banana bread. I have been slowly clearing out my flour and starch collection, but I knew that banana bread is a pretty safe recipe for “paleo” flours like almond and coconut, which I still have. I started from this recipe, Comfy Belly Banana Bread, but I like to use dates where I can, I keep sliced almonds instead of almond flour, and I like recipes by grams.

Put into food processor:
66 g dates plus a splash of water (~15 g or a tablespoon), microwaved until tender, about 30 seconds
Preheat oven to 350 (325 for convection)
300 g bananas (2 large)
Blend
105 g sliced almonds (1 cup)
Blend
3 large eggs
Blend until smooth
28 g coconut flour (1/4 cup)
2 tablespoon oil (grapeseed)
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
Add whatever spice is on-hand
1/2 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp vanilla (1 capfull for my bottle)
1/4 tsp allspice

Pulse a couple times to just make uniform.

Line a bread pan with waxed or parchment paper (it stuck a little to wax paper, might suggest greasing instead)

Bake about 30-40 min until knife comes out clean.
bananabread
The texture of this batch was a little grainy (like my coconut flour), very cake-ky. It does not stick together much, especially fresh out of the oven. It was light texture, and tasty.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

